Gavin Whyte

Screenwriter & Author

49 Affirmations for the Grieving

  1. I am allowing myself to grieve.
  2. I have patience with myself.
  3. It’s natural to feel all that I am feeling.
  4. I am giving my heart all the time it needs to heal.
  5. I am riding the wave of grief the best I can, with its infrequent highs and its frequent lows.
  6. A bond may have been severed, but the bond I have with myself and those around me is still strong. I cherish this bond.
  7. I cherish the memories I co-created with my loved one.
  8. I will get through this.
  9. Life still has meaning.
  10. In my sadness, I love myself.
  11. It’s OK to take time to grieve.
  12. I let go of my sorrow, but hold onto the love I feel for my loved one.
  13. I am willing to release any negative and fearful ideas from my mind, body, and life.
  14. It’s OK to be angry at having to grieve.
  15. It’s OK to be angry at being hurt and in pain.
  16. I am not a victim.
  17. I am not to blame.
  18. All is forgiven.
  19. I will feel my grief but not wallow in it.
  20. I choose love.
  21. I choose to heal.
  22. I relax and let all feelings flow through me.
  23. I have lived and loved, and I will continue to live and to love.
  24. Grieving takes time. I am patient with my healing process.
  25. I forgive anyone close to me who has died.
  26. I accept what I cannot change, and find the courage to change the things I can.
  27. My life has purpose.
  28. I live today with compassion and love.
  29. I look for the silver lining around every grey cloud.
  30. I allow myself to rest.
  31. I allow myself to take it easy.
  32. There is no rush.
  33. I take care of myself as I heal.
  34. I am discovering new strengths within myself.
  35. Like the lotus flower that grows in mud, I too am blooming through my pain.
  36. I am thankful for the time I shared with my loved one.
  37. If I didn’t get the chance to say goodbye, I can say it now.
  38. If I didn’t say I love you, I can say it now.
  39. If I didn’t apologise, I can apologise now.
  40. If I didn’t forgive, I can forgive now.
  41. Letting go is not the same forgetting, for letting go and accepting what is, is integral to my healing.
  42. Crying is not a sign of weakness.
  43. The lows I am feeling are natural.
  44. I am safe.
  45. Life is still safe.
  46. Wherever my loved one is, I send them love and compassion.
  47. It’s OK to question life.
  48. It’s normal to feel unstable.
  49. It’s normal to feel that life is no longer my friend – but deep down I know it is.

If you like to listen to guided meditations, and like to use guided meditations, then you might like to subscribe to my YouTube channel, Tales & Meditations.

It would be an honour to have you a part of the growing community.



Please feel free to leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

About Me

I am a screenwriter and author of The Girl with the Green-Tinted Hair, Happiness & Honey and others.



%d bloggers like this: